Day 4: Living Room TV Console Drawers

Living on a strict budget, you have to get creative.  For us, that means using my old dresser as a TV stand for the time being. The thought is to one day (hopefully soon) sell the dresser on the Nashville Craigslist site and turn right around and buy an entertainment stand or actual console on Craigslist to fill its spot after we paint the wall and mount the TV. For now, though, the dresser is all we have.

I don’t have before pictures, but this little organization project for our living room started months ago with drawers packed full of random college papers I had held onto, CDs in disarray, and an entire drawer designated for spare electronic parts with no other home. Over time, we pared down 2-3 times after our wedding to get all but the electronics drawer cleaned up. Happy day! But something was still off … until Daniel opened the drawer full of his old video games and decided he didn’t need them all. We pared down big time for the Amazing Media Purge of 2011 (which you can read about here), and his second visit to McKays even included selling them his rarely-used PS2. I know what you might be thinking–somebody batted  her eyelashes and/or stomped her foot to get rid of the extra ugly cables and games and free up some storage space, but this is not the case. I’m a lucky gal. My guy came up with this idea of his own free will, and our storage space TRIPLED! Yes! Tripled! I knew just what to do with it. I took into consideration what many organization experts recommend and evaluated what we used our living for–entertaining, playing board games, and watching movies on our tv and sweet surround sound system (Thanks, Dad! Best. Christmas. Present. EVER.) The answer to how to use our storage space was obvious.

Wanna see? I thought you’d never ask!

Please don’t mind the ancient drawer paper. It came with the piece and has a certain vintage charm all of its own; plus, I’ve just not gotten around to replacing it yet. That comes next (unless we sell it first.)

Drawer #1: Card games and games in low height boxes. My husband is a huge fan of chess, so I made sure his board was included. In our whole relationship, I’ve only played him once, though. Chess isn’t my thing, but that’s not to say he can’t invite a friend over who shares his enthusiasm for the game of Masterminds. Besides, the MindTrap game was my idea (I love it!) and we’ve also only played that once … so I guess that makes us even.

Drawer #2: More games, but this drawer was deeper so it fit more.

Drawer #3: 95% of our music collection that wasn’t purchased digitally. Note the amazing Chronicles of Narnia radio theater dramatized collection. We are both huge Narnia fans, and it makes a great road-trip companion. We tested it from Nashville to Connecticut over Thanksgiving to visit my brother and sister-in-law and their kids and it was a lifesaver. Just saying.

Drawer #4: Our DVDs (and a few VHS that I just can’t let go of). I even organized them by type. It’s the librarian in me. I can’t help it. I probably would have Dewey-Decimalized them if I could have remembered the numbers and had one of those nifty label making things. OK, maybe that’s a stretch, but I do *heart* me some sorted DVDs.

Drawer #5 (Not Shown): I would have taken a picture of this before, when I had gotten it neatly arranged with the PS2 and Wii controllers, but it has since been emptied. The Wii went to the office TV area, and the PS2 was sold. So now I have an extra drawer. Any suggestions as to what to do with it?

I have to admit I’m a little attached to my organized dresser with all its living room storage now. Its replacement will have some pretty big shoes to fill, but I am still holding out for an even more useful model. Perhaps one that will fit the surround sound system and Blu-Ray player? Because that would be awesome. I would love to have those wires and cords hidden away behind closed doors!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 4: Living Room TV Console Drawers

  1. This is such a cool project! Tackling one or two problem areas each week must make this project so much more manageable and in the end, I’m sure it will be really liberating to have such a clean house. Any thoughts on how you’ll maintain your organization? That’s my problem… I go on an organizing binge, then weeks or months later (once daily life has caught up with me) I find I’m back at square one. Excited to read about how you keep this up!!

  2. Pingback: Finding Time to Organize, Part 1 | Behind Closed Drawers

Leave a Reply

