Take a Breath. Life Happens.

It’s hard to believe that January is already coming to a close. I never believed it as a kid, but time really does fly.

Today I wanted to take a moment to stop and reflect and see how far this organizational/decluttering journey of mine has come. Last night, a dear friend of mine wanted to come over and talk, on a whim. It was so nice to just say “come on over!” and not be running all around to clean up for once.

My house is not perfect. In fact, at this point there is clutter in the living room, little muddy dog prints on the tile floor (I just mopped it a short time ago and already it needs it again. Thanks for nothing, rain), and dishes I haven’t done are sitting on the kitchen counter. I can see them from my couch.

But it isn’t terrible, either.

I find it easy to get caught up in the fact that I haven’t cleaned my living areas enough and it wasn’t ready for a home decorating magazine beauty shot. But the reality is I don’t live on a set, and neither do you. Life happens.

Let it.

And then go wash the dishes. Kinda like I’m going to do now …

If you’re new to this site, welcome! I hope you’ll look around. Start here to learn more about my organizing journey, or subscribe by RSS. See you soon!

 

{Image: Emergency Brake/Evil Erin, via Flickr}

2 Comments

Filed under Balance, Cleaning, Ponderings

2 responses to “Take a Breath. Life Happens.

  1. Okay I do not think I could hold up my own weight like that. Seriously, I can’t get over the photo! It’s a good reminder to me to think about exercising. I won’t actually do it, but I believe I should get credit for at least having the thought.

    Have a great weekend!
    Christina
    http://prayersandpeekaboo.blogspot.com/

    • I know, right!? That’s not me. The credit goes entirely to the talented (and strong) young woman who took the photo, as credited at the end of the post. :)

      I’d be glad to be able to do 10 pushups, let alone that, lol.

Leave a Reply

