Making Storage From Nothing

There are day, months, and sometimes even years when a “tight budget” means not a cent to spare for any purpose other than food, shelter, gas, and bills. Storage containers cost quite a bit, even in small quantities. Not many budget-friendly (and attractive) solutions fall under the completely free category.

This one does.

I call it Use-What-You-Have-Organizing, a.k.a. Making Storage From Nothing.

I’ve been working on cleaning and organizing our third bedroom/my crafting and shop storage room. During the process, I came across a number of CDs (don’t judge. I’m old school that way. I like to keep the cases.) I needed CD storage to get them off the floor.

In the past, I stored them in a bottom cubby of our Expedit bookcase. Now, however, more of our books occupy that bookcase, so there is no longer room. I needed to find a place to keep the CDs all in one space. Then I realized I had some open-top elongated boxes that were just about the right height. I also had leftover kraft wrapping paper and paper doilies, plus a couple of rolls of washi tape from Japan.

That’s when the lightbulb went off, and my three boxes went from this:

to this:

here’s how I did it:

  1. I eyeballed cutting the size of the wrapping paper to fit across the front side of the boxes. I just placed it against the paper and cut around it, leaving enough length to wrap from the bottom up and around the box lip.
  2. I used packaging tape to tape it down in place.
  3. I cut the paper doilies in half, taped them to the inside of the top lip and folded and creased them over the top, then cut off the edges that overlapped.
  4. I taped the doily down with a small piece of washi tape on each side.
  5. I filled in each box with Tetris-like arrangements of my CDs.

I gotta say, for a set of storage containers that cost, as my wonderful friend Joy says, “free dollars,” they ain’t too shabby.

In fact, I rather like looking at them up on top of the bookcase.

Linked up at:

Toys in the Dryer | Five Days … 5 Ways | Sugar & Spice | A Bowl Full of Lemons | Tip Junkie

 

Like this project? Pin It. You can find more DIY projects here or subscribe via RSS  to get weekly updates on home organization.

8 Comments

Filed under Budget Decor, DIY, Media, Organizing, Storage

8 responses to “Making Storage From Nothing

  1. I love this idea! It’s super easy, budget friendly, (and my favorite) super adorable!

    Just found your blog and I love it!

  2. These turned out beautifully! I’ve been using shoe boxes as storage on my closet shelf. They do the job, but sure aren’t pretty to look at. Thanks for the inspiration–I’m going to keep my eyes open around the house to find something to pretty them up!

  3. Very cute! I love doilies…I think they can make anything look pretty:D

    • Thanks! I completely agree about the doilies. These were leftovers from my Christmas wrapping things from last year, and I’m still finding cute ways to use them.

  4. I love reusing old boxes! Yours turned out so pretty!

  5. Amy

    Thanks so much for partying with me at Drab to Fab on Friday! You really embodied the theme with this post! This week’s party is up, so come on back with more of your fab ideas!

    Amy @ Sugar and Spice

    http://www.amynjesse.com/2012/03/drab-to-fab-link-up-7-features.html

Leave a Reply

