Back Again … With a Twist

Hello! It’s been awhile, I know. Thanks for your patience. Life has been good, but I’ve done a lot of soul-searching the past couple of weeks, and I wanted to pop in to make a little announcement.

Our recent vacation showed me how desperately I had needed to reboot and recharge. There were days when I spent several hours at a time doing nothing but lounging on a deck chair, reading, taking a nap, or just watching the waves go by while sitting with the wind in my hair. My mind went blank and it was a glorious thing.

Maybe it was not having any major commitments to take care of regularly, or maybe it was the white noise of the wind and waves, or maybe it was all the reading of young adult novels I did while on the trip, but an interesting thing came out of all of those things combined: I began creating stories again.

I hadn’t realized how much I’ve missed writing fiction! It’s hard to believe, but I’ve been weaving stories for over twenty-five years. It’s a huge part of who I am. In fact, I still have poems and stories I dictated to my mother when I was a young girl. In high school and college, I had stories published by a small magazine and our university literary journal. I even have a folder on my computer desktop, full of manuscripts I’ve written over the years that are waiting to be polished and sent out to publishers, but I’d ignored them as I focused on other things.

On the cruise ship, the desire to write came flooding back.

For the past two weeks, during my absence here, I’ve gotten back into the writing groove, and I’ve decided to pursue this passion of mine in earnest to see how far I can go. I’ve been editing a novel I had completed and set aside several years ago and I’m working on finding critique partners for that and other manuscripts I have in progress.

What does this mean for this blog? Well, the editing and writing process is a full-time job. I will have to step back from publishing posts five days a week or writing extensive articles that don’t include personal examples, but I am not done with organizing and renovating our home. The frequency of posting might slow down, but I still plan to keep you updated on our progress and share hints and tips I learn along the way. I’ll also keep posting DIY projects you can adapt for your own home.

I’ve been blogging off and on for the past seven years. It has become such an integral part of who I am that I don’t think I’ll stop it anytime soon, so thank you for continuing to be a big part of that blogging journey I’ve taken. I look forward to keeping you updated on my newest venture. In the meantime, I hope you’ll come back for tomorrow’s installment of our Home Tour–this time around, I’m tackling our master bathroom. (Yikes!)

See you tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Balance, Travel

Leave a Reply

