Guest Post: The Ticking Time Bomb

{Today’s guest post is from Daniel, who volunteered to bring a cherished treasure of mine back to life.}

Sometimes objects have sentimental value.  Some objects have so much sentimental value that you don’t want to get rid of them despite them being dysfunctional and/or dangerous.  This was exactly the case with my wife’s grandparents’ kitchen clock. {Note from Andrea: this clock is the epitome of my fondest memories of all the family gatherings held in that kitchen. It was the last thing I requested to have from my grandparents‘ estate and something I will always treasure!} Therefore, I have taken it upon myself to rip the guts out of it and replace it with something safer and working.  That means I get to follow my childhood instincts and rip it apart until I find out what makes this clock (ahem) tick.

Observe the following archaic device.  This is a clock motor in which the electromagnet is located outside of the mechanical bits.  What’s that on the side?  Are those two poorly soldered connections with no ground wire or shielding?  And the coil is made up of… paper and copper wire.  I feel safer already.  It’s been a long time since I’ve been electrocuted.  I intend to keep breaking my record.  This thing has to go.

Now there is nothing particularly wrong with the mechanical bits of the clock except for the fact that the gear is welded to the motor.  I don’t feel like welding, so all of this has to go as well.  I’ll probably replace it all with a DC driven clock kit from Michaels or Hobby Lobby.  I’ll keep the clock face, hands, and pendulum to preserve the original look as much as possible.

Lastly, I’m not a big fan of this flavor of wood stain.  We’ll have to decide on a new one.  That means sanding, and lots of it.  I’ll have to pick up a can of stain, polyurethane, and a few sheets of sand paper.

Obviously, this might take a while, but I hope this gives everyone the flavor of what I’m trying to accomplish.  Sometimes organizing means repurposing and refurbishing rather than throwing out.  It’s important to keep that in mind.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

