The Power of Focus

As I type this blog post (on Thursday night), Daniel and I are sitting in our neighborhood Starbucks, enjoying the music and atmosphere. Most importantly, we’re enjoying the non-ability to work on anything but what we brought with us in our laptop bags. We eliminated a houseful of distractions, including our television and unlimited Netflix. Trust me. An endless supply of Law & Order: SVU is not good for my concentration levels.

Daniel is working on our 2010 taxes. I’m working on plans for the year ahead. We have a lot of big events coming up, and I want to be ready for them. It also dawned on me that I haven’t been to the dentist in over a year. Uh oh. Guess I should pencil that in, huh?

Hmmm. That means I need to find a dentist. I’m on it …

Anyway, we didn’t travel far for this little exercise in intentional tunnel vision. We didn’t pack heavy, either. We just grabbed our laptops (and in my case some magazines and a notebook and pen to write down ideas), and went.

Within the first five minutes, I was more focused than I’ve been in quite awhile. I was overdue for this.  Brain space needs the occasional cleaning and organizing, too you know! I got the idea from Michelle Ward, the creative and inspiring dynamo who is the When I Grow Up Coach. Her blog post was written for creatives who are in the development stage of starting their own business (her target market group, incidentally, includes me; more on that later, I promise!) She encouraged her readers to set a timer for three or five minutes and write down every little thing that came to mind that they could do to work towards getting their business up and running. My own brain space cleaning/organizing session was a bit of that, a bit of blog development for Behind Closed Drawers, and a bit of mapping out the year ahead and all the events we will be a part of (weddings, baby showers, Lord of the Rings Movie Marathon party hosting … you name it!) I want to be prepared.

It’s been very relaxing making time to be focused. Removing myself from the distractions really worked well. I think I’ll do it again soon!

{Photo: Daniel B of Behind Closed Drawers … pardon the camera-phone use!}

1 Comment

Filed under Ponderings

One response to “The Power of Focus

  1. Thanks so much for the shout-out, Andrea! So glad that exercise lead ya to such juicy goodness. Seems like 2011 is gonna be an amazeballs one for ya!

Leave a Reply

