Storage Above the Washer and Dryer

Now that I have a place to fold the laundry, I was inspired to clean out above the washer and dryer to continue the progress.  They are two closet areas that have been bothering me for quite some time now.

When we moved into our house last June, my main focus was to get in, get comfortable, and get in shape. I began running to train for a 5k Daniel and I ran in October. We ran it , then a month later hosted an open house party (useful tip: nothing like a party to whip your lazy cluttered butt into shape and get a house clean!). Then the holidays hit …

… basically, I just tried to get things in place. ANY place. If it made a smidge of sense, it went there until I could get all the elements and zones of our house in working order. Thus, in January of this year, Behind Closed Drawers was born.

In the meantime, these shelves were in sad shape:

Last night, I decided enough was enough. If the nook could be organized, so could those overhead shelves. I followed my standard de-clutter plan of attack, setting aside items to throw out, relocate, and store. Then I ran upstairs and found a few storage containers I had freed up from previous organizational efforts. You’ll probably recognize a couple, specifically the fabric tote and the galvanized tub, from the closet reveal and my previous bathroom setup, respectively.

Ta-da!

I’m particularly happy about my Tupperware container use above the dryer. All our Dryel pieces and parts are now neatly organized in one spot, when before they had been separated between the two closets. Above them I’ve put the dryer sheets I rarely use (again, those pesky scent allergies). The galvanized tub holds the steamer.

Above the washer, meanwhile, I was excited to rediscover our Dirt Devil (that Daniel uses to catch spiders for me) and our watering can. The baskets hide stray light bulbs, cleaning products, Super Shammies, and furniture gliders. Now they are all neatly corralled and easily accessible.

Excuse me while I indulge in a happy dance. Yay!

Ok … I’m back.

There are some things I’d like to do that occurred to me while I was organizing. First, there’s a lot of wasted space UNDER the shelving. If I could find a hanging basket for even easier access to dryer sheets, etc. Second, I could also utilize the walls more. Third, I could go vertical again (like we did with our bike storage) and add some risers on the shelving, or something similar, so we could use the space in the most remote corners for items from the rest of the house that we rarely need to use.

As always, it’s a work in progress.

{Photos: Andrea B of Behind Closed Drawers}

5 Comments

Filed under Dining Room, Laundry, Storage

5 responses to “Storage Above the Washer and Dryer

  1. joy

    I still LOVE those watering cans… I wish I’d gotten one while we were at IKEA. ;o)

  2. ME TOO!!! Now I just need to find plants to water that I won’t kill. 🙂

    I’ve been wanting some IKEA stuff, too. Hmmm. Maybe an Atlanta day trip is in our future?

  3. Pingback: Finding Time to Organize, Part 1 | Behind Closed Drawers

  4. Pingback: 5 Steps to Get Organized in 2012: Before You Buy Organizers, Know What You Need | Behind Closed Drawers

  5. Pingback: One year later … | Behind Closed Drawers

Leave a Reply

