Always Get Paint Samples First

We’ve learned our lesson. Sadly, we had to go back to Home Depot again last night to pick out a couple of extra colors to buy as sample sizes before we invest in the real deal. The two samples cost two-thirds as much as the whole gallon of the economy paint, which is kind of sad, but if I’m going to be painting nearly my whole house this color by the time we’re through … I’d better be dadgum sure it’s the color I want.

We’re getting closer …

… and for good measure, we tried it out in our dungeon of a living room, as well …

You can see I didn’t do a fantastic job of color matching in Photoshop. Sadness.

But you get the picture, right?

The very patient and helpful paint lady at Home Depot was there again. I have a feeling she’s going to get to know us by name soon. Speaking of which, I should have gotten her name. She told us if we loved one of the colors but not the intensity she could make another sample at any percentage of the original color that we wanted. I might have to spring for two more samples and take her up on that because I am really like the darkest sample, but it is just a smidge dark for our living room with one small window.

Of course, that is coming from a lady with a mid-tone teal/turquoise on three of her living room walls. So take it with a grain of salt.

I’ll report back. The greige saga continues …

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Always Get Paint Samples First

  1. Amy M.

    This is why I’m very, very glad that I married an artist. He’s forgotten more about color theory than I’ll ever know and I gladly let him make all such decisions. “Honey, are you SURE that’s going to look the way I want it to look?” “Positive.” And it always does. :-) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

