On Life, Not Organizing, and Making French Toast


I sat with my laptop for over an hour and tried to think of something snazzy and inspiring to write about organizing the house and I realized … I haven’t participated in any projects to write about. Home improvement blogger fail!

Sometimes life is just life, those day to day existence things that take your attention away from the projects. At first I felt guilty for not pushing forward, but then I realized I’m just living in the present, and sometimes the present is work and traffic and vegging on the couch watching Bones.

Yes, as a matter of fact, I went to work, filed paperwork, ate a bag lunch, then left and got stuck in traffic, and decided to spend the rest of my evening watching Bones. On the couch.

I did make some GREAT French toast to go with our “breakfast” dinner. It was quite scrumptious. If you’d like to make a great French toast breakfast dinner sometime, here’s my recipe:

4-5 pieces of whole wheat bread
4 eggs
A splash of milk
A smidge maple flavoring
A smidge vanilla

That is correct, the measurements are not precise! In fact, my proportions of the ingredients changes at whim. It’s all to taste and preference.

Combine eggs, milk, maple flavoring, and vanilla in a casserole dish or similar flat-bottomed dish until fully blended. Heat a skillet or pan on medium temperature and melt a tab of butter (about 1 Tblsp.) in the skillet. Dip the bread in the egg and flip on the other side. Place wet bread in the skillet or pan. Fry until golden brown. Serve with maple syrup, or, if you prefer powered sugar and fruit.

(Tip: If you want all the slices to be warm when served at the same, simply just warm the oven and put the slices, after frying, into a pan in the oven.)

Unfortunately, I ate mine before thinking to take a picture. So I borrowed a slightly different version to illustrate.

{Many thanks, shugarhigh, for the shot above of some other delicious-looking french toast.}

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Ponderings

One response to “On Life, Not Organizing, and Making French Toast

Leave a Reply

