Painting a Nook

I have confession to make: I dreaded painting our dining room nook that doubled as a laundry zone. I painted one living room wall to correspond with the the hall and dining room color (gotta love town homes being one long open room), but I stopped at the nook. For FOUR months. Ugh.

Today, we summoned some daring and Daniel cleaned our living room carpet and filled nail holes from our gallery wall of pictures I decided to remove, while I tackled the nook. Oh, that nook.

Three hours later … I feel extremely proud of myself and can’t stop staring lovingly at the soft dove gray/beige color that looks quietly stunning against the white trim. Ahhhhhhhh. Yes. That is why I wanted to do this.

And just to remember just how far we’ve come … here’s a progression from the past seven months:

I’ve got to say, the hardest part was getting past my reluctance to do the trim and cutting in. I was terrified I’d mess it up, but I didn’t. In fact, I think I did a pretty good job for an amateur, and my artist brushes came in handy for the tiny spots! I don’t have wallpaper up in between the shelves as I had initially considered adding, but that’s okay; this is good as is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dining Room, Painting

Leave a Reply

