365 Days of Organization: The Journey of a Little Messy Girl

365 Days of Organization – this has been my top search term referral coming up in stats for the past week or so. I know it is the tag line of this blog (after all, I was really eager to write a post each day with a new organization project when I started–oops), but I think I’m getting the hint. People have made their new year’s resolutions, and getting organized this year is one of them.

So I’m planning on making good on the search and my tag line. Now, I’m older and wiser at this point. I know I cannot keep up a blog post a day including weekends and stay sane, but my new schedule after leaving my day job has allowed me to write more (yay!) and work more on the new house (double yay!) so I have no excuses not to get in a groove and share more of what I’ve learned. In fact, with the one-year blogging anniversary (blogiversary?) of Behind Closed Drawers coming up soon, I’ve started working on some plans to improve the site and to create more valuable resources for my new friends who have found me, hoping to get organized in 365 days.

To you, my new friends, let me say: welcome. And congratulations on your new journey! I’ll be here, sharing advice, being a cheerleader, and “getting real” by spilling my guts and showing terrible before pictures that make me cringe. You see, I’m not perfect. I don’t have all the answers. I’m just a reformed messy who still has relapses (I dislike doing dishes or putting up laundry) and probably is a type 2 hoarder on her worst days (I’ve taken the test … I had to know, lol.) I just know what I’ve been through to get to this point and I want to spread the knowledge that has gotten me this far.

This blog is the equivalent of a weight loss journey of someone who does like her vegetables. Instead, it’s a the perspective of a little messy girl who, ironically, loves to sort things and organize them. I’ve been there. I’m pushing through to the end with little baby steps. And someday soon, I’ll reach my goal weight–err, organization level–and I’ll be proud to give a house tour at the drop of a hat, instead of panicking that my guest will think I’m a slob.

That’s why I’m here. That’s why I’m glad you’re here.

So, stay tuned. I’ve got plans for this new year, and hopefully soon I’ll be able to provide even more content and tools to help you get organized in the 365 days that make up 2012. Big things are coming! Provided, of course, the Mayans weren’t right. ;)

Leave a comment

Filed under Ponderings

Leave a Reply

