Intentional

Did you have a good weekend? I did! Despite how cold it has been here in Tennessee lately, it was sunshine-y and I enjoyed letting the weekend just be the weekend.

I even caught up on some cleaning and installed some thermal curtains in our bedroom to help keep our electric bill down (pictures to come soon), but the best part was just having down-time and not stressing too much about schedules. January has been good to us; after the holidays it is so nice to not have every weekend scheduled with activities way in advance. I like to wing it sometimes, don’t you?

But now it is Monday, and we have a busy day ahead of us (I’m really looking forward to hitting the gym with my good friend, Joy, and burning some calories!) and I’m excited to get back to work. I want to make each day and hour count as I help Daniel with our primary business, work on the house, add items to Creative Salvage (hopefully new stock will be on the “shelves” this week!), and update this blog. Never a dull moment in this household.

Which reminds me … there’s a word that I keep thinking about that applies to our business, my Etsy shop, and this blog. It also applies to my workouts or eating habits, my home projects, and even my relationships–really any part of my life. It’s a word that has really worked its way into my thought processes lately, and it won’t let go. It’s a word that I’ve claimed for myself this year, and I hope that remembering this word will shape my life for good.

That word is “intentional.”

{Original Image Credit: lululemon athletica; typesetting mine}

I want to undertake my goals with intention and my relationships with intention. I want to stop and realize that everything I do affects not only myself, but also those around me, and I want to let that really sink in so that it helps me shape the path I take, the thoughts I think, and the words I speak.

I want to be intentional in all I do.

Now, this word struck a chord in my heart even before I found out that other people were claiming words as their own for the entire year of 2012, but I wanted to take this opportunity to share it, along with others, as Layla from The Lettered Cottage invited us to, and to link up with other bloggers who are sharing their words for this year. Intentional is mine. What is yours? I hope you’ll link it up, too!

Psst! Have you entered my giveaway drawing to win the book Organize Now! and a dayplanner yet? The deadline is Thursday, January 19th.

4 Comments

Filed under Balance, Life, Ponderings

4 responses to “Intentional

  1. I love this word! What a great thing to strive for this year! Good luck!

  2. WHAT A GREAT WORD!!!!! INTENTIONAL……U CAN GO EITHER WAY WITH IT. IN MY MIND, I THINK OF THIS WORD AS SOMETHING THAT WAS DONE FOR A REASON & THAT THE PERSON MEANT IT!!! HOPEFULLY, THE ACTIONS WERE IN GOOD TASTE & MEANT TO BE POSITIVE!!!

    • It’s always a risk that something can be accidentally taken the wrong way, but I hope that in my case “intentional” will be a blessing, not hurtful. I’ll definitely keep that in mind!

Leave a Reply

