What’s Holding You Back?

{Image: Laura Chifiriuc}

Is it outside work? Is it exhaustion? Confusion? Frustration? Fear?

It can be overcome. I promise.

Room by room, closet by closet, cupboard by cupboard, drawer by drawer, you CAN get organized. Even more importantly, once you find an organizational structure that works for you, it will begin to be self-sustaining, provided you continue to follow it. Each time, it will require less effort, as things begin to have a place and you remember to put them in it. There will be fewer battles, freeing up your energy and mind to focus on the remaining trouble spots in your home and life.

Just like losing weight, the more you lose and maintain a weight loss, the fewer pounds (or, in our case, organizational trouble spots) you have to worry about.

But you have to be willing to let go first.

I’m a fan of the reality show The Biggest Loser. In it, contestants work with personal trainers and nutritionists to lose excess weight and become stronger and healthier individuals. Inevitably, some–if not all–of the contestants discover that the process is a difficult one. Their trainers talk to them and try to find out what from their past or present is keeping them from giving their all. Sometimes, they don’t feel worthy. Other times, they retain scars from past relationships or cling to excuses. Little by little, the layers of emotional baggage are discarded, even as the weight is, until a newer and stronger person emerges. By the end of the show, they have the skills and knowledge required to maintain their new lifestyle. While the last 10 or 20 pounds are difficult for them to release they are not encumbered by the rest of the excessive weight that had been on their bodies and they are at their peak physical condition. They have the knowledge required to continue being healthy and have built upon weeks of success.

But first, they had to shed not only their weight but also their self-imposed barriers.

It’s the same way with creating a restful, orderly environment for yourself and your family in your home. There will be some early victories. There will also be increased resistance from within yourself and outside forces as you continue to grow. It can get discouraging when you don’t see faster results. Stick with it.

So what is your barrier?

Mine is pure and simple laziness as well as a lot of pursuits that fascinate me more than cleaning my home (or working out to lose weight, for that matter.) I have to admit, sometimes I’m afraid I’ll give up and just call it a lost cause. If I fail, it’s going to be embarrassing.

I’m also afraid of not just failure … but success as well. What happens when I’ve got a completely organized home? Will I keep it that way? Will I relapse? Will family and friends who have read this blog be disappointed in me if I get lazy and start to slack off? What if I don’t want to be organized 24/7?

Oh, it doesn’t stop.

The bottom line is: keep on going. Don’t give up. Just like the contestants on The Biggest Loser discover every season, good things come to those who put themselves out there, do their homework, and just keep pushing, no matter what. Acknowledge what is holding you back; confront it; accept it … and move on. You can do it. I can do it. I’m counting on it.

1 Comment

Filed under Balance, Life, Ponderings

One response to “What’s Holding You Back?

  1. soooooo true!! I would say my barriers are laziness and just how completely overwhelming it all looks…not sure where to start so I never start.

Leave a Reply

