What’s in a Name?

{Image: Alex Proimos}

Oh, boy. I broke the cardinal rule of blogging: I didn’t buy my own domain name when I started this blog. I know, I know! What was I thinking?

Last month, I decided I wanted to go ahead and buy it at last. WordPress kept reminding me I could do so and because they did, I didn’t think it would be a problem to wait awhile before making the hosting and domain registration commitment. Last month, though, I saw something new. My dashboard no longer told me I could register a .com address. It told me I could register a .net.

Uh-oh.

Somebody just bought the domain. Now that I want to update the blog and do a re-design outside of the constraints of WordPress.com, that actually matters to me. I emailed the owner of the blog domain, offering to pay for it, but I did not get a response.

So now I need to find a new name. Everyone I’ve talked to about this is sad and told me they like Behind Closed Drawers because it has a nice sound, is descriptive, and a fun play on words. I could keep the name if I bought a domain with the name plus “blog” at the end of it. What do you think about that? Is the extra word unwieldy and too long? Should I try to keep my name, or does one of the options below work as well or better?

I would love to have your input on this! I talked to some friends and gave them a long list of options and  they narrowed it down. I’m adding a poll for potential blog names; if you would take a moment to vote, I would be very grateful.

Thank you in advance for your help,

Leave a comment

Filed under Ponderings

Leave a comment