You Can Do It: Make a Rockin’ Playlist

Today’s guest post is from my friend, Rachel, who recounts the ups and downs (and those moments of life when you just need a theme song to play on repeat) over at her new blog–For the Record. You know how you always have that one friend who always knows the best songs to listen to for any given circumstance or emotion in time? That’s Rachel. She helped to compile THE wedding playlist for me two years ago. Seriously. It was amazing, and I still listen to it today whenever I’m feeling nostalgic or in the mood for a good love song. (Although they tried to sneak in Gold Digger. The unedited version.  Ahem. Somebody–I don’t know who–accidentally deleted that little gem before it went live at the reception.)
  {Image: Michael Le Roi}
I’m so excited that Andrea asked me to be a guest blogger and more specifically I’m excited that I get to write about music. I’m incredibly flattered that Andrea thinks I’m an “expert” in the area of music- I just think I’m obsessed! In addition to being obsessed, I also think that there should be a playlist for every possible mood or life situation- which is seemingly impossible but I’m trying. So now to the task at hand- choosing a rockin’ playlist!

1. Defining “rockin.” Since I try to be the eternal optimist, I’m going to hope that you are having an epically awesome day and that you need a playlist to match it. Don’t get me wrong- sometimes you need an angry playlist, but I’m thinking more along the lines of fun, lighthearted songs for this post.

2. You’re going to need to pick between 18-35 songs. 35 is just a number. If you have an iPod and any other MP3 player, a playlist can be infinitely long, but if you are putting this on a CD, you may need to limit it. Got to love that 80 minute max on CD’s.

Here are some of my suggestions for a rockin’ playlist:

The Classics

  1. Queen – “Bohemian Rhapsody” – because every playlist needs at least one Queen song!
  2. Led Zeppelin – “Rock and Roll” – get the led out!
  3. The Beatles – “Obladi Oblada”
  4. The Beatles – “With a little Help from my Friends”
  5. The Who – “Join together with the band”
  6. Ray Charles – “Hit the Road, Jack”
  7. Ray Charles – “Hallelujah I love her so”
  8. Billy Joel – “Only the Good die Young” – not as depressing as the titles makes it seem.
  9. Tom Petty – “Running down a Dream”
  10. Eagles – “Take It Easy”
  11. Bob Dylan – “Don’t think twice, It’s alright”
  12. Booker T & The MG’s – “Green Onions”
  13. Cheap Trick – “Surrender”
  14. Steve Miller Band – “The Joker”
  15. Aerosmith – “Dream On”

The Standards/Newbies

  1. RHCP – “Danny California”
  2. John Mayer – “Why Georgia”
  3. Coldplay – “Viva la Vida”
  4. Foo Fighters – “Learn to Fly”
  5. Fruit Bats – “When U love somebody”
  6. Gin Blossoms – “Follow you down”
  7. Green Day – “I Fought the Law”
  8. Mumford and Sons – “The Cave”
  9. Train – “Save Me, San Francisco”
  10. White Stripes – “Hotel Yorba”
  11. Paolo Nutini – “New Shoes”
  12. Ryan Adams – “English Girls Approximately”
  13. Regina Spektor – “Fidelity”
  14. OkGo – “Here It Goes Again”
  15. The Killers – “All these things that I’ve done”

These are just my suggestions on what I think is required to make a rockin’ playlist. I am sure I have missed some that you would have put on here.  But that is the great thing about choosing your rocking playlist- its yours! Pick out songs that make you want to dance, smile, go for a drive, or whatever! I will leave you with this epic song, may want to considering adding to your playlist!  Enjoy the fabulously 80’s video!

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Balance, Life, Media

Leave a Reply

