Quick and Easy DIY Project: Rope Wrapped Container

 

Recently, a friend of mine and I decided to take an afternoon and just relax and craft for the fun of it. We listened to music on 8tracks tagged “crafting + for hipsters” and had a blast. Later we put on an old French movie with English subtitles and I hot-glued rope around and around the oatmeal container as Beauty and the Beast spoke dramatically while wearing incredible costumes.

I burned my fingertips a few times, so if you tackle this quick and easy DIY project, please do so with care! I don’t recommend this craft for children. That being said, it is simple to make. I just wiped down the inside of the oatmeal container, grabbed some rope I had on hand, and warmed the glue up in the glue gun. I squeezed out a few inches of glue at a time and just kept wrapping, gluing, pressing, and repeating those steps from the bottom of the canister up to the top, stopping at the rim and cutting off the rope when it would begin to overlap.

As you can see, I used a piece of junk mail to catch the glue drop drips, but you can use whatever you want. The whole process took maybe an hour to do, and now I have a rustic canister to hold items such as these paint brushes.


5 Comments

Filed under DIY

5 responses to “Quick and Easy DIY Project: Rope Wrapped Container

  1. That’s such a great and simple idea, I think I’ll have to give it a go soon!
    P.s. I love watching French films with english subtitles too!

  2. Rachel

    Thanks for not mentioning in the blog that I fell asleep while listening to that movie! I was interested in it, and would like to attempt to watch it again…I was just so sleepy! Had a great time crafting with you though! Let’s do it again!

  3. Ok let me just say that as a person who is extremely disorganized, I need more people like you in my life! haha great blog and great ideas! This one in particular was super cute and I am super tempted to try it out.

Leave a comment